Finally, good lasagna!

lasagna.jpg0918dinner.jpg
Oh, this was so yummy, and I am so happy with how it turned out! The layering was different than I usually do, but it was certainly easier than trying to spread a thin layer of the cheese layer. This was certainly a cheesy lasagna, and I was glad to put in the spinach, and even gladder that I couldn’t taste it, and neither could DD. Boogie Boy, of course, inhaled it. I used 4 cups of my homemade spaghetti sauce (the last, I need to make more) and a can of diced tomatoes instead of 6 cups of commercial spaghetti sauce. And I made two smaller (8″x8″) pans, and froze one previous to baking. When I said it would be good next month, the boys responded with, “Next month, next week, whatever . . .” :)
Cost per serving: $1.07

Added a salad with celery, tomato, mozzerella, and Italian salad dressing. Cost per serving: $0.42

Total cost per serving: $1.49
Into the freezer went: one 8″x8″ pan of lasagna

Also, I made chicken stock overnight in my crockpot. I love doing it this way, but I wake up smelling it and it really freaks me out until I remember. The first time I made it this way, I thought the house was burning down or something. It is currently in the fridge cooling. Later today, I am going to cut it with a 3:1 ratio of stock to water and pour into my freezer containers. I’m probably looking at a gallon or more, and thankfully I got MOST of the chicken bones out of my freezer. :)

And finally, I am going out of town this weekend (starting tomorrow), and I am taking the camera with me, so there will be no posts, and no photos until I get back, maybe Monday. I am leaving a bag of chicken breasts for DH to crockpot and make into burritos, ground beef for burgers, and there is a bag of Sweet Salsa Chicken in the freezer with his name on it, if he needs it. Plus assorted other frozen goodies I have been making this week (bread, runzas, muffins, all kinds of stuff).

Leave a Reply

