Freezer Cleanout, Day 5

Breakfast: Slow Cooker Oatmeal $5.60
This week, I added honey, almonds, and pears to the oatmeal. Of course, the only ones who ate it were me and my husband. The kids filled up at “Donuts for Dads”, the annual thank you, socialize before rushing off to work breakfast to try to encourage even more parent participation in school. There’s also “Muffins for Mom”, because we aren’t involved enough.

20121022-064633.jpg
Lunch: Rosemary Chicken Salad, Sweet Potatoes $1.09
I’m in love with Okinawan Sweet Potatoes. I mean serious love. Look at that color! Not only that, but you can use the cooking liquid for dyeing fabric (I love using natural dyes). Now I just need to figure out how to make them taste as good as they look.

Dinner: Broccoli and Ch . . . Um, no . . .
Whoops. The most important thing about eating out of the freezer is knowing how, when, and whether to thaw. Some things you thaw before cooking or reheating, and some you don’t – usually to preserve a frozen shape (like lasagna). I thought twice baked potatoes were the second, but they were actually the first. Since I am in the middle of a couple of absolutely slammed weeks, time-wise, I said forget it, and we went out for some yummy gourmet pizza and salad.

The potatoes will be back, though . . .

And yeah, the weekend was just as bad which is why this post is just now getting out. *le sigh*

Leave a Reply

