Fresh 20, Day 6

Breakfast: Breakfast Burritos $0
I knew I would be doing some real cooking for lunches, so I took advantage of some breakfast burritos I had stashed in the freezer. A yummy mixture of sausage, eggs, cheese, and potatoes – and I was shocked that the eggs reheated okay for me.

20121120-075316.jpg
Lunch: Macaroni and Cheese Cupcakes $2.07
I always buy 2 packages of macaroni when I need some: one bag of regular and one box of whole wheat. I noticed a while ago that they cook in the exact same amount of time, so can be cooked at the same time. I don’t like whole wheat pasta by itself, because of the chewy texture it has, but have discovered that if I mix it half and half with regular that it tastes like regular to me, but I get a little whole wheat benefit.

Which means I always have bunches and bunches of macaroni left over. Not a problem for my kids, but you know me – I like cooking new stuff. So I went to look for a new macaroni recipe. I found this one. The method seemed like less of a crazy procedure than the macaroni and cheese last week, and I knew if I swapped out broccoli for the spinach, both of my kids would gobble these up. The cupcakes really need to cool before you try to pull the out of the pan, or they fall apart. Both kids said lunch was good, though. I added some Orange Juice Carrots for additional vegetable goodness.

20121120-075324.jpg
Adult Lunch: Taco Salad in a Jar $5.10
My husband decided to take the whole week off of work this week to do some work on the yard which he has needed to do for a while, but between his races and Scouts, his weekends have disappeared. So, I also planned a couple of adult lunches – both salads.

For this salad, I layered a mixture of salsa and fat free greek yoghurt (as a dressing), taco seasoned ground turkey I had in the freezer, chopped bell pepper, chopped celery, chopped green onion, shredded cheese, and then filled the rest with a mixture of romaine and green leaf lettuces. Other optional ingredients you can put in are cherry tomatoes, black olives, black beans, chile peppers, tortilla chips, avocado, corn, anything that would go on a taco.

Dinner: Braised Sage Chicken and Vegetables $13.62
After spending all day chopping vegetables (okay, it was only two hours), I was glad I could just toss a bunch of stuff in a pot for dinner. Although I wish I had cooked the brown rice ahead of time as suggested.

This dish smelled incredible while it was cooking, absolutely incredible. I was glad to find out that it tasted as good as it smelled – but both kids were very meh about it. The boy only ate it because he was promised rice if he did (the rice was still cooking as we started eating, and I figured it would be good to soak up the good stuff from the bottom fo the bowl). DH and I loved it, though. We really liked the way the sweet potatoes, butternut, and onions tasted together. This recipe is a keeper.

The list of what I prepped:
3 Texas sized onions, chopped and sliced
4 green peppers, chopped and sliced
2 red peppers, chopped and sliced
4 ribs of celery, chopped
half a head of garlic, minced
5 sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 pound of carrots, peeled and chopped
1 pound of parsnips, peeled and chopped
2 butternut squash, peeled and chopped
1 Honeycrisp apple, chopped
2 large heads of lettuce, chopped

Leave a Reply

