Beef Taquitos

I did not take a picture. This was bad, and I felt really bad because we had a friend over that I invited specifically for these. It’s not that the recipe was bad. And it tasted fine, not great, but fine. But the DOING of it . . . sucked. I’m sure someone else has made them and they tasted excellent. I’m sure someone else made them and they were easy. What I have in my freezer and what we had for dinner was not. Chopping the beef was stupid. It’s in big huge chunks.

And corn tortillas.

I hate working with corn tortillas almost as much as I hate eating them. I only like them deep fried (as in chips or taquitos). They always end up crumbling whenever you try anything more complicated than “fold gingerly in half around something very thick and uniform in shape”. Dipping them in hot oil kinda helped, except then you had to roll slick tortillas because they soaked up quite a bit of oil in the process, and since I have never done this, and it wasn’t part of the recipe, but a recommendation from other who had the crumbling problem – NO ONE EXPLAINED IT REALLY WELL. Like “Heat ‘X type of oil’ to Y degrees fahrenheit (or until it is rippling in the pan, or until it is just warm, or something that describes the temperature it should be at), and then do Z to coat the tortillas in a light coating which will make them pliable without turning you (or your rolling assistant) into a greaseball and negate the need to line your pan for flash freezing with wax paper.”

So the NEXT time I try to make taquitos to rival the ones you can get in the freezer section, this is what I will do:
Place a big roast (maybe only 3 pounds, though) in my crockpot for 6-8 hours, with a couple of potatoes and dry taco seasoning. No liquid, the roast will produce plenty. After it is done, shred the beef and mash the potatoes, and mix this all up good. Refridgerate at least 4 hours, preferably overnight. Mix in a couple of cups of shredded cheese, a cup of salsa, maybe some additional seasoning. Microwave corn tortillas for about twenty seconds after spraying EACH lightly with cooking spray, in batches of about 10 at a time. Then roll into tight little rolls. Instead of the huge gargantuan ones we had last night.

The guacamole was good though.

  • 4 medium avocados
  • 2 tomatoes (diced)
  • 1 small onion (diced)
  • 1 t. garlic powder
  • 1 t. ground chipotle pepper
  • 2 T. lemon juice
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 T. mayonaise, because it wasn’t creamy enough for me

Mix together. Refridgerate at least 30 minutes before serving. I know the mayo seems like a werid addition, but if you don’t have sour cream, it makes a good substitute, and no one notices that it’s mayo.

One thought on “Beef Taquitos”

Leave a Reply

