Noodles

So the last time I went to an Asian market (a week or two ago), I picked up an array of colored noodles to entice my DD into eating oddly colored food (read: green).  I picked up orange carrot noodles, green veggie noodles, lavender taro noodles, and turquoise spirolina noodles.

Now I am in an art/craft group that meets every month that my mother is a part of, as well.  We usually have a potluck lunch, and then work on whatever out current project is.  I decided I was going to bring some wonderful noodles this month, in honor of one of the women, a dear friend of mine who has a passion for turquoise and purple.  What a gorgeous dish this would be!

Then the noodles hit the water.  The lavender color slowly leached out, but you could still kind of see the color if you squinted just right. When the spirolina noodles hit the water, you could literally watch the color drain right out of them. Grrr. When I took the noodles out to drain and shock them with cold water, I was aghast. They were green. Not just a vague impression of green that you had to squint the right way to see, but GREEN – a beautiful deep green that my mother and I loved, and this friend of mine hated. Well, as I told my tale of woe at the meeting, after the laughing subsided, my friend said in a haughty voice, “Well, it’s OBVIOUS you like your mother better than me!”
Uh Oh Noodles

Uh Oh Noodles
10 minutes prep, 10 minutes cook
1 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup. sesame seeds
1 pkg spirolina noodles (4 servings)
1 pkg taro noodles (4 servings)
1/4 cup Ken’s Steakhouse Asian Salad Dressing with sesame and ginger

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Start heating water to a boil in a large pot on the stove. Meanwhile, spread almonds and sesame seeds on a cookie sheet and get noodle packages ready to go.
  2. Toast seeds and almonds 5 to 10 minutes, or until slightly browned.
  3. Cook noodles according to package instructions, one type at a time.
  4. In a large bowl, combine noodles, toasted seeds and almonds, and dressing.
Leave a Reply

