Catchup Pic Post

Monday Night Dinner:
04.30 Dinner
Basic Golden Chicken, Marinated Cucumbers (RM was surprised at how much the marinating took out the “raw onion” taste of raw onions), and Broccoli Salad, all really good choices. RM thinks that the potatoes need to be broiled after the chicken is pulled for about 5 minutes to get them crisper. I’ll have to try that next time.
Basic Golden Chicken With Potatoes

  • 3 1/2-4 lbs bone-in chicken pieces
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 1/2 lbs potatoes, cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces
  • 3 sprigs fresh rosemary, stemmed

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
Rinse chicken inside and out. Pat dry with paper towels. Place in a roasting pan.
Drizzle chicken with 1 T. of the oil and season with 1 1/2 t. salt and 1/2 t. pepper. Rub this into the chicken pieces.
In a large bowl, combine the remaining oil, salt, pepper, potatoes, and rosemary. Pour into the roasting pan and spread into an even layer around and under the chicken pieces.
Roast until the chicken is done (thigh reads 180 degrees on a meat thermometer), about 45 minutes.

05.01 Bentos
Here are the bentos from yesterday. Trust me, this is the best pic of the bunch, the others were all fuzzy. RM’s, DD’s, and mine, all with lo mein and various combinations of leftover veggies. I love my new boxes.

Feel At EaseSakura
Here’s my loot. 🙂 And these are some interesting comparison pics:
Biggest boxesChopstick comparisonMy box ComparisonMy box Comparison 2
So here we have the box I frequently send with my roommate with the largest bento box I got in my loot – the collapsible sandwich box (which is soooo cool). Comparison of the Japanese chopsticks that came with onefo the sets and Chinese chopsticks I got at Cost Plus. The box I usually used for myself with the new box I will be using. My new box with a jar of baby food – man, these things are really small.
DD Box Comparison
And here we have a pic of the box my DD will be taking to school with a lunchbox about the size of the Annie one I took when I was a little girl. RM put me straight on something – it’s not that big a difference when you consider that half of the lunchbox I used as a kid was thermos, and the rest was not packed tight as a drum.

Leave a Reply

