Navajo Tacos

Oh, I love frybread. I could eat an entire batch myself! ^.^ I found a recipe I really like. I’m not sure how authentic it is, but it turns out tasting great and bubbling up nicely for me. This is one of the few things I have NO problem frying (okay the first time I had some problems, but now I know what the heck is going on!). Not something for the kids to be involved with, though, the oil spits and spatters if the pan isn’t deep enough. πŸ™‚ Fun to watch, not so fun if your 5 yo wants to watch (which she didn’t, thankfully).

So, for dinner last night, the first thing I should have done was realize the night before that since I wanted to make navajo tacos for dinner the next night, I should probably start soaking the beans. Instead I got to use the “quick soak” method. I was also out of the main seasoning stuff from my usual recipe, so I had to wing it. Pretty easy, actually so here’s the recipe for my beans from last night (even better than the previous batch, I think, we’ll know for sure when they get fried):

Oniony Beans
Prep 5 minutes, Cook 6 hours+, makes 7 cups

  • 1 pound pinto beans
  • 2 qt. water
  • 1 t. salt
  • 2 t. Onion Soup Mix – or the kind you can buy in the store
  1. Since you (I) forgot to soak the beans overnight, take your beans and put them in a big pot and pour 1 quart of water over them (this is 4 cups, just so you don’t have to look up the conversion). Bring to a boil (fast is fine, no need to baby them). Boil for 2 minutes.
  2. While it is coming to a boil, pour 1 quart (4 cups, again ^.^) of water into your crockpot. It is important to not boil both qts. so you don’t shock your stoneware. Once the 2 minutes of boiling is up, pour the water and beans into the crockpot, put the lid on and let them soak/steam for 1 hour.
  3. Then add the seasoning and turn your crockpot on. If you have 8-10 hours, go with low. It was noon by the time I got to this point, so I cooked them on high for 5 hours, and then turned the crockpot off while I fixed the rest of dinner, so the beans would cool down enough to eat when we were ready.

This is the second fastest way I know of to cook beans (the first fastest starts with, “Get a can opener . . .”). The beans tasted so yummy, with a good onion flavor coming through, without big chunks of onion. My one year old gobbled up about a cupful of these, and passed on the cheesy frybread in favor of the beans! πŸ™‚ Weird boy.

Make sure leftovers get put away with some of the bean juice for frying! πŸ™‚ Yumyumyumyumyum . . .

For the rest of dinner, I had thawed some mexican flavored cooked chicken, which I reheated with some sauteed onions in a big skillet. I added some more chili powder, and a little chicken stock, so that the chicken would end up very moist. Once I got it heated, I stuck it on the back burner on low and just let it simmer and let the flavors meld while I fried the frybread. I also shredded some lettuce.

So, to assemble:
Plate
Frybread
Spoonful of beans
Spoonful of chicken
Shredded cheese
Hot Sauce if you need it
Lettuce
Sour Cream

If you can, eat it folded like a taco, or if you made it to full and tall (or the beans have soaked through the bread!), use a fork. Either way, total yumminess! We have leftovers of everything, so if someone makes one for lunch, I’ll take a pic . . .

Leave a Reply

