Asian Feast

08.03 Dinner
My DH just got back from a long conference. He didn’t want to waste a lot of money on food while he was in Washington, DC (with no car), so he bought himself a loaf of bread, a jar of peanut butter, and a jar of jelly. And proceeded to live on PB&J for a week and a half. I couldn’t do that. Seriously. So I decided that I wanted to make something to start making up for the crappy food he’s had to eat lately. Hence, a feast!
Chicken Onigiri
Chicken Onigiri
Okay this one is easy. Make up some short grain white rice like you would for any other onigiri, plain or with rice vinegar like for sushi. Then add just a spoonful of cooked, shredded chicken. This happened to be the mexican flavored chicken from earlier this week, and it turned out DELICIOUS! Once I get more rice, I am definitely making up a bunch of these for the freezer!
Grapes
The last of the 4 pound package of super yummy grapes. Oh, we will miss these . . .^.^
Cucumber Citrus Salad
Cucumber Citrus Salad
This came from wanting to make a salad like one of the ones in Bento Boxes by Naomi Kijima, with mandarin orange sections and napa cabbage. Well, I didn’t have either. Instead I had most of a cucumber fresh from the garden, some good red-leaf lettuce, and a can of “Citrus” (which ended up being mostly grapefruit and grapefruit flavored orange sections). If you like grapefruit, you will probably love this salad, so I will post the recipe. Unfortunately no one in our house likes it at all. . .

  • one cucumber, peeled, halved, and sliced thinly
  • about 4 leaves lettuce, shredded
  • 15oz. can Citrus Fruit/ Grapefruit (I used Del Monte), drained with juice reserved
  • 4 t. vegetable oil
  • salt and pepper

Put cucumber, lettuce and fruit into bowl. Mix 4 t. reserved juice with oil,and salt and pepper to taste (less than 1 t. each). Pour dressing over salad, and toss to combine everything. About 10 minutes prep (including slicing and shredding), serves 4

Spring Sushi
I wanted to make sushi for the boys, but I figured out (after I had already made the rice, and DH had sliced up the krab and veggies) that we were out of nori. So, DH rolled them in spring roll wrappers (he does all the sushi rolling in the house if I can get away with it! ). I call it SortaSushi. DH dubbed it Spring Sushi. 🙂

Blue TamagoyakiTamago Baby
Tamagoyaki, which I attempted to color blue. But I used the gel kind of food coloring instead of the liquid. It was a pain in the bottom! Hard to get out of the tube, hard to stir in, impossible to stir in completely in the short time it takes for each layer to cook, so instead of a nice gradiation, I got this. Yellow center, with weird green outside. It tasted good, though. And Boogie Boy gobbled his down really fast!

08.03 Dinner on the plate
Overall, I think it was a really good dinner, and looked really pretty, all green, white, and orangey-yellow. 🙂 DH was very happy, too.

Leave a Reply

