Creole Night

08.15 DinnerChicken in Creole Sauce
Yup, trying to make the Cajun Husband happy. 🙂 The Creole Sauce wasn’t that great, though. Not enough tomato for a real creole sauce, IMO. It tasted good, though, and looked pretty in the pan. I browned the chicken thighs on both sides (maybe 3 or 4 minutes per side) first, removed them to a plate. I added a couple of tablespoons of flour to the pan drippings and made a blonde roux (because the first time we had this, during ZWT, I said it needed some thickening), and added the thawed creole sauce. I mixed them just to combine and added back the chicken, lidded it, turned it to low, and let it simmer until the chicken was completely cooked though, about 20 minutes. Meanwhile I made plain white rice using my favorite recipe to go under the chicken. Cost per serving: $1.26 (an estimated 42 cents per serving for the sauce, but that’s been in my freezer for months, so really only $0.84 out of pocket this month . . .)

As a veggie, I decided on some broccoli, one of our favorites around here. I didn’t have any fresh, so here you have my from the freezer broccoli recipe (with no need for butter!):

Seasoned Broccoli from frozen
2 minutes prep, 8 minutes cook, serves 4

  • 1lb. bag of frozen broccoli
  • 1 heaping T. seasoning (whatever goes with your dinner, Creole last night)
  • 2 T. water
  • 1/2 c. shredded cheese (or less)

Get a large microwave safe bowl (I like to use the bowl I plan on serving it in, when I think ahead that far) and put broccoli in it. Pour seasoning over the broccoli, trying to get maximum coverage. Pour water over next. I have to admit, I don’t actually measure this. I just put the bowl under the tap and turn it on for a few seconds. Now wrap the top in plastic wrap so that the broccoli can steam (really good seal). Microwave on high for 7-8 minutes (YMMV), stirring halfway through. Well, sloshing around, really, but get the bottom broccoli off the bottom. 🙂

Have the cheese separate on the table or serving area, and just put a few tablespoons on top. No need for butter, and you can reduce the amount of cheese to whatever you prefer. I have two kids and a roommate that I have to beat his hand with my wooden spoon to get him to stop eating the shredded cheese I put out for dinner. I can’t believe they are happy with only 2 T. 🙂 Cost per serving: $0.44

And because I’ve never eaten a cajun or creole dinner without a hunk of buttered french bread, I used the last hoagie roll from my 6 pack from the bakery. Perfectly good substitute. Cost per serving: $0.10

Total cost per serving: $1.80

Leave a Reply

