08.17 Dinner

08.17 Dinner
Easy, easy dinner. Had DH grill a bag of these wonderful pork chops pulled from the freezer. This time I remembered to tell him to baste, and it made a huge difference. Delicious. Absolutely delicious. I added some quick corn (just a little butter and water on some frozen corn, microwaved for 5 minutes) and I made up one of the packages of Onion Rice Mix I had in my pantry. Everyone loved dinner. Boogie Boy LOVED the corn. I mean, gobbled it down. We won’t let him have quite so much next time, though.

Pork chops cost per serving: $1.37
Onion rice cost per serving: $0.09
Corn cost per serving: $0.27

Total cost per serving: $1.73

Dutch Baby, topDutch Baby, side
I also made dessert. Technically it’s a breakfast, but I figured if you can serve crepes for dessert or fo breakfast, then the same goes for pancakes, even big oven puffed ones. This is first time I have ever made, eaten, or SEEN a dutch baby (and according to my mom, something went wrong). The recipe I have is from a cute little cookbook that doesn’t have any pictures inside. Everything else I have made out of it has turned out good, though. And don’t get me wrong, this tasted excellent, but when I described it as a sweet Yorkshire Pudding, my mom looked at me funny. Well, that’s what my recipe was!

Yorkshire Pudding:
mix 1 cup eggs, 1 cup flour, 1 cup liquid (milk/water) and pour into a pan with hot fat in it. Bake at a high temp for about 20 minutes.

Dutch Baby recipe:
mix 1 cup eggs, 1 cup flour, 1 cup milk, 1/4 cup sugar, sprinkle of cinnamon, and pour into a pie pan with hot butter in it. Bake at high temp for about 20 minutes.

Hmmmm, looks about the same to me! 🙂 🙂 It tasted really good, though, with some maple syrup over the top, tasted just like pancakes. Which is a good thing, as I have been craving them ever since I saw Alton Brown order some up on Feasting with Asphalt last week. Of course he ordered barbequed short ribs on top of his, but let’s not get silly . . .

Cost per serving: $0.29 (tasty and economical, double yum!)

Leave a Reply

