08.30 DD’s Bento

08.30 DD's Bento
Hmmm, hopefully she will like this lunch. Cheese sandwich on homemade bread (that nice low fat recipe I’ve been using lately), roasted veggie rolls, cucumber slices, and a mini pizza burger out of the freezer stash that I hope will thaw in time (she goes to lunch at 10:45!). If not, there is plenty here for her to eat, plus melon gummies and orange juice.

The roasted veggie rolls turned out really good yesterday, so I made up 4 tortillas’ worth for everyone’s lunches today. All I did to the veggies yesterday was add some chopped cherry tomatoes and about a tablespoon of Italian seasoning. It turned out all the sauce ended up on the bottom of the baking dish, so there was PLENTY for a second roast.

Roasted Veggie Rolls
serves 2-4

  • 1 c. roasted veggie leftovers
  • 4 small flour tortillas (taco/fajita, 6″ size) or 2 large (burrito, 10″ size)
  • cheese, see below

Okay, I used Laughing Cow cheese wedges, 1/2 wedge per tortilla, because that is what I have on hand. I just spread a thin layer over the whole tortilla. You could also use cream cheese the same way (mmmm, flavored cream cheese . . .), or you could use regular shredded cheese and sprinkle a thin layer and melt it in the microwave. Or skip it altogether and hold your rolls together with toothpicks. I am simply using it as “glue”. Tasty glue, to be sure. 🙂

So you have your cheesed (or cheeseless) tortilla. Spread about 1/4 c. of the veggies in a line down one side of the tortilla (I know, I know, tortillas are round, they don’t have sides, WORK WITH ME PEOPLE! *grins*). Now roll the tortilla around the veggies , so that the veggies are the center. Stab a toothpick through the middle to hold it shut while you slice. Slice using a good knife into rounds the right height for your bento box. I usually get 4 for one of DD’s size boxes, and 5 for the bottom of one of my 2 tier boxes.

If you use the larger burrito size tortillas, your rolls will be bigger (and look more like sushi).

On a non-cooking note, watching my daughter toss around her backpack (with bento inside!) I now fully appreciate the true bento concept of packing the right size, and packing it FULL so nothing shifts when being tossed into a car by a rushed kindergardener. O.O I need to remember this . . .

Leave a Reply

