The Boys’ Favorite Dinner

0903dinner.jpg
When the crockpot lid is lifted on nights like last night, the boys (DH and RM) start sniffing around the kitchen, like bloodhounds on a scent trail. “Smells GOOD!” Drool starts collecting on their lips. Yup, Sweet Salsa Chicken is back. ๐Ÿ™‚ And at $0.88 per serving, I’m quite happy to serve it to them. Although, the next time I make dump bags of this, I need to use only mild salsa. This one was a little spicy, and with the kids, that’s a no-go.

I have figured out the rules of Salsa Chicken now. If you are using bone in pieces (leg quarters or thighs, which I highly recommend), you can add a cup of white long grain rice to the crockpot and maybe a quarter cup of water, and the rice will be amazing (I like it better than the chicken, honestly) with very little burnt parts on the sides of the crockpot after 6 hours (I use a 6 qt crockpot, which doesn’t get even half filled by this recipe, a smaller one will not burn as much). But with bl/sl breasts, they are so dry, that I really need to add a full cup of water, at least to get the rice to cook perfectly and the chicken to not be dry. And I need to start adding the cut of meat to the label! I though I had leg quarters in this bag, and it turned out to be bl/sl breasts. grrrrrr . . . . ๐Ÿ™‚

Added a nice salad, with tomato, carrot, raisins, and green leaf and iceberg lettuce with a great Vidalia Onion dressing. Cost per serving: $0.38

I also added some plain yogurt to top the Chicken, which I thought was really good, and better for us than sour cream. Plus it only added 4 cents per serving. ๐Ÿ™‚

Total cost per serving: $1.30

Leave a Reply

