Meatballs for the Freezer

Last night, with the help of the boys who diligent rolled for me :), I made 5 pounds of ground chuck turn into meatballs to put in the freezer. We were out of meatballs, and I like the way these taste compared to the ones you can buy . . .you know, the ones that taste more like cardboard than anything edible? Well, 5# of beef turns into about 160 meatballs using my recipe. Thatsalotta meatballs! And I had to cook them in 1# batches, so I was doing that for over an hour. I need to figure out how to do the cooking for these in the oven or something . . .

I could probably get between 20 and 30 servings out of those 160 meatballs, depending on the recipe I am using them in, but for the purpose of a cost per serving, I’ll say 20. CPS: $0.59

Anyway, one batch became dinner with the help of 1/2 c. of yogurt stirred into the brothy meatballs and about 8oz of pasta. No veggie, I was too busy with meatballs. Next time I will not stay on the computer until 5:30pm before I have to go grocery shopping!! πŸ™‚ Cost per serving: $0.79

No there isn’t a picture. You know what a meatball looks like. πŸ™‚ It’s a ball of meat. Look at the recipe for a picture.

Leave a Reply

