Dinner Catchup

Sorry, my head is on getting the house and family and me ready for me to go out of town this weekend by myself. Yay for me, but it’s a lot of work and thinking through things (like making sure the freezers are stuffed with lots of goodies that are easy to reheat for my DH to fix for lunches and dinners).

So dinner on Sunday was French Dip Sandwiches, and I learned something very important. This recipe is divine when it is done right, but don’t try to speed it up. Even though technically you can cook a recipe in the crockpot on high for 4 hours, if the recipe calls for low for 8 . . . .it’s not really a good idea. The meat was not bad, it was just not the falling apart tender juicy deliciousness I remember this recipe giving me the first time I made it. But it did slice nicely. And I have 3 pounds of it in the freezer. 🙂
Cost per serving: $0.88

And I made a nice salad with tomatoes, carrots, and celery. Cost per serving: $0.32

Total cost per serving: $1.20
Into the freezer went: 3 pounds slice beef

Yesterday I made bread, a heavenly sweet whole wheat bread. I made a full batch, but since I only have two 9″x5″ loaf pans, I figured I would do something different with half the batch. I made more runzas, since I had half a head of cabbage and some ground beef in the fridge anyway. Yum. I saved out a few for lunches this week, and popped the rest into the freezer.

Into the freezer went: one loaf of bread and 8 runzas

stirfryveggies.jpgrice.jpglemonchicken.jpg
Mmmmm, I really love this recipe. And I remembered what I told myself the last time I made Lemon Chicken – make very simple side dishes!! So I did, just some short grain rice, and a bag of frozen Asian style veggies quickly stirfried and drizzled with a little soy sauce. No problem. Next time, though, I need to use smaller chicken breasts, or cut them into bite-sized pieces.
Cost per serving:
Lemon Chicken – $1.15
Rice – $0.07
Veggies – $0.27
Total Cost per serving: $1.49 (kind of expensive, I know, but it tasted like I had ordered it, and you can’t get a full meal from any Chinese delivery for less than $2 per person, can you?)

Nothing went into the freezer, but there will be some very good lunches this week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

