10.21 to 10.27

10.22
10.21 Yummmmmmmy Ribeyes. These suckers were huge! No one could finish a whole steak (which is a good thing), and lunches for tomorrow look very delicious. I also opened a bag of salad, and made up some Cornbread Casserole.

Cornbread Casserole
Prep 5 min., Cook 30 min., serves 6

  • 15 oz. can corn, drained
  • 15 oz. can creamed corn
  • 8 oz. box cornbread mix (Jiffy is one brand this size)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 T. butter, melted
  • pinch paprika
  • pinch garlic powder

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix everything together and pour into a greased 11x7x2 inch casserole. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the top is golden and the sides are darkish. Sweet and yummy, and very very kid friendly. Cost per serving: $0.33

10.23Boogie Boy eating spinach enchiladasDD eating spinach enchiladas
10.22 The last of the spinach and cream cheese enchiladas ($1.07)from the freezer and some red rice($0.41). You know, I have tried all kinds of different red rice recipes over the years. I live in Houston, with parents from Arizona. A Mexican dinner isn’t complete without some kind of rice dish, and I usually prefer red rice (Spanish Rice, Mexican Rice, the stuff colored by tomato sauce usually containing peppers and onions and garlic, too). I like mine a little sweet, a little spicy, and a little sticky and clumpy. This recipe is now the top of my list. I really enjoyed it, and so did Boogie Boy – but then again, if it’s rice, he’ll scarf it down first.

10.24
10.23 I have been out of Italian red sauce for a while, so I am going to feed my freezer tonight. My very favorite, very freezable, very economical pasta sauce($0.24). Served with pasta and Italian style broccoli. The broccoli was very easy, and REALLY delicious. I took about 2 pounds of fresh broccoli crowns, and cut the florets apart. I put these in a microwave safe bowl with about a quarter cup (or less, eyeball it) of water poured over it. Then I microwaved for 2 minutes, stirred the bottom broccoli to the top, and zapped it for another 2 minutes. Drain off the extra water and you have simple steamed broccoli. Drizzle on about a tablespoon of olive oil, a pinch of salt, and a quarter cup of parmesan cheese, and you have my new favorite side dish for Italian nights! 🙂

10.24
10.24 A new recipe to try and freeze: Slow Cooker Hoisin Beef Stew($2.42). Served with some steamed rice. This was not as great as I was hoping. I love beef stew. I LOVE hoisin sauce. The combination was okay, but not something to necessarily keep. Let’s just say, I am not upset by the fact that I have another bag of this waiting in the freezer, but I probably won’t make it again after that one is gone, especially considering how expensive it is (hoisin ain’t cheap, and neither is beef these days).

Bavarian Pork Loin10.25
10.25 Ooh, this pork loin recipe really caught my eye with apples and mustard($1.39). It looks like the perfect meal to make up some noodles for the freezer for($0.30). The pork recipe is definitely one of my new favorites. It’s a bit more work than I would like, but the flavor is AMAZING and totally worth the extra effort. The noodles, though left a LOT to be desired. If you like your noodles very very bland, this is a good recipe for you. Me, I ran back into the kitchen after dinner and dumped at least 2 tablespoons of dill, a couple of teaspoons of lemon pepper, and a heavy pinch of salt to the other 2 dinners’ worth of noodles cooling to be frozen. I hope it was enough. The technique as far as making the cream sauce was odd, too. I think if I were to try this again, I would just go ahead and make a bechamel starting with a roux (which is my instinct for cream sauces). I will let you know how the frozen ones come out . . .

10.26 I wanted to do the Japanese chicken recipe tonight, but the chicken thighs were still frozen, so we ordered pizza. Sorry no pic. lol

10.27 A new Japanese recipe to try: Japanese Crispy Chicken($1.29, which includes cost of frying oil). Served with Daigaku Imo($0.31), a recipe I have been trying to make for a while, now. Edit: this is the best chicken I have ever eaten! I marinated it overnight, and then shook the thighs in cornstarch in a baggie to coat them and fried them up. DELICIOUS! I had some issues with the potatoes (the sugar burned as I was trying to make the sauce), so I dumped the fried sweet potato pieces into a greased baking dish, spinkled them with about 1/4 cup of sugar and spinkled on some sesame seeds. Baked them in a 400 degree oven for I don’t know how long. About as long as it took to fry the chicken. I just kept checking on it every 3-4 minutes. These things were fantastic! Crunchy and sweet, yum. I served this over some leftover rice and I highly reccomend you doing the same! 🙂

Into the freezer went:
6 two-cup containers of Salsa di Pomodoro
1 bag of Hoisin Beef
2 bags Creamy Dill Noodles
Some ham and cheese scones and apple cheddar scones, actually, but they got quickly used for lunches and breakfasts, and are all gone now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

