Cheese Enchiladas

Well, I’m willing to bet you thought you would never see another frugal dinner post from me, or a freezer friendly one! Well, I got both covered with this one! 🙂 I have been watching our budget and watching our health at the same time. It is really hard to eat good food frugally, especially in the winter time when the produce deptartment leaves a lot to be desired both in prices and selection (and, frankly I would rather my produce not have more frequent flyer miles than I do *grins*). But I have been trying to wean us off of having a lot of meat in our diet. I just think that it is going to be healthier for both our bodies and our pockets. I mean you have seen the latest beef recall, right? That is really sickening . . .

So, with this in mind, I have been gently reducing the amount of meat we have been eating. I now serve at least one meatless meal every week – more if we are planning on eating steak with my parents. Dinner from last night was one of these, and it was also frugal and freezer friendly! Yay, triple whammy of bloggy coolness. 🙂

Cheese Enchiladas
Cheese Enchiladas
serves 4-6, prep time about 15-20 minutes, cook time 20-30 minutes

  • 2 c. shredded cheese (whatever floats your boat, I used a preshredded Colby/Monterey Jack blend)
  • 3 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1-2 t. garlic powder
  • 1-2 t. dried minced onions (or a smidge of grated fresh)
  • 12 corn tortillas
  • 15 oz. enchilada sauce (nope I didn’t make my own, I bought the store brand)
  • 1/2 c. more shredded cheese

The hardest part of this is rolling, and it’s not that hard. I have yet to get any of the secrets to rolling corn tortillas to actually work for me, if they work for you – Wonderful! 🙂

First, you want to mix the first four ingredients together until they are really well combined. Seriously, you will not see any little shreds of cheese and it will have the texture of stiff play dough (this is important). Turn the oven on and start heating it up to 350 and grab a pan. I used an 11″x7″ oval baking dish, but you can also use an 8″x8″ square. Pour about 1/4 of the enchilada sauce into the bottom of the pan and swirl the pan until the bottom is coated. Reach in with your clean hands and grab about 2 tablespoons of cheese mixture in your hands and shape into a log. Roll a tortilla around this log and place int he pan. Repeat for the rest of the cheese and tortillas. Pour the rest of the sauce on top, spreading it to cover. Sprinkle the last 1/2 c. of cheese on top, and place in the oven. Bake 20-30 minutes or until hot and bubbly. 🙂
This can feed 4 large appetites for $1.17 each, or 6 smaller ones for $.78 each. I am very sure you can reduce the price even more if make your own enchilada sauce. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Cheese Enchiladas”

  1. The secret to rolling corn tortillas is using fresh fairly thin ones. When you find a good brand, remember it! Also letting them sit for a minute in warm sauce first is helpful but makes the process even more messy.
    Some people soften them by dipping them in hot oil, but that’s adding calories.

  2. Yeah, I’ve tried dipping them in oil, heating on a hot skillet, heating in the microwave with a damp paper towel, dipping in sauce, blech! none of them work for me. But I haven’t used very thin ones, either. So the next time I buy corn tortillas I’ll look for thin ones, and until then I’ll be happy with delicious, but very ugly enchiladas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

