Coconut Rice

02.21 Ham Dinner

A while ago, I made Miss Maggie’s Coconut Rice (from Hillbilly Housewife) for the family as a trial. Most of us like the flavor of coconut, but detest the texture of shaved coconut pieces. But I noticed when trying another recipe that the texture wasn’t a problem when the coconut shavings were steamed/hydrated. So I had great hopes for this recipe.

Well, the first time around it was not great. Not bad, but not great. DH said it needed more moisture, and RM said it needed something else in the flavor department, like cinnamon. So I took these suggestions and created:

Miss Scout’s Coconut Rice
serves 4, total time 25 minutes

  • 1 c. long grain white rice
  • 2.25 c. water
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1/2 c. coconut

Get your favorite rice cooking pot (mine’s a 2.5 qt. saucier with a heavy bottom and a heavy lid, hmmmm . . . kinda like me *grins*) and measure everything into the pot. Stir to combine and put on the stove. At this point, I actually let it sit for about 20 minutes, which may have helped everything hydrate, or it may have done nothing – your call for if you have the time to do this, I was baking a ham at the time. Turn the heat on high and bring to a boil, stirring occaisionally. Once it has reached a boil, put the lid on and drop the heat to your lowest setting. Simmer for 20 minutes, then fluff and serve.

I made this for the family earlier this week, and it fit the bill. Yummy, with enough flavor not to be bland, and definitely moist enough. I don’t know exactly how much this cost, but I am willing to bet it is uber cheap, about a dime per serving, like most other rice dishes without a lot of embellishment. This makes an excellent side dish for a sweet glazed ham, or a tropical dinner. Oooh, I need to plan this for a night when I use up the rest of that Jerk Seasoning recipe . . . .

Leave a Reply

