Getting ready to fill the freezer . . .

So I noticed a disturbing lack of meals in my freezer the past few weeks (just like the lack of posts on the blog *grins*), and decided I would fix that last week and this coming week.  Easter started it off with a bunch of leftover ham, packaged in 1# hunks (if you would like to see what my menu for Easter looked like, check out my Easy Special Occasion Spring Dinner menu on Recipezaar).  I, of course, also have another ham sitting in the freezer (they were on sale, as were the 2 corned beef briskets I have in the bottom with it).  If you have never cooked a ham, check out Super Easy Baked Ham.  And if corned beef intimidates you, break out your crockpot and try this recipe.  It is my traditional St. Patrick’s Day meal now.  It’s not quite as simple as the ham recipe, but it does involve opening a beer first thing in the morning *grins*.So along with cooked ham portions, whole ham, and corned beef, I also added Sloppy Joe mixture and buns.  I only made a quarter of this recipe, which still gave me 3 dinner sized bags for the freezer!   I also made a very yummy and hearty Macaroni Chili, half of which went into the freezer.  I also had an Indian food night one night (I crave naan sometimes . . . ) and tested out a few recipes for OAMC, and came up with a couple of definite winners that I will have to schedule again: Chicken Bombay and Bombay Naan (which was very close considering I don’t have a tandoori oven to throw it up against the side of . . .).  I do have some leftover naan in the freezer to see how it freezes.  I also froze some snacky stuff: Banana Bread and Flaky Deli Slices.  Those things were so delicious it almost didn’t make it to the freezer! Both the bread and the sandwichy things.So the plan for this week?  Well, the recipe I plan to have in the freezer by the end of the week:

Almost Free Chicken Stock, you ask?  What the bleep is that?  And how do I get in on this?  Well, it takes some prep work: anytime you cook a whole chicken (or get a rotisserie chicken), save the carcass.  If there’s any meat left on it you don’t want to pick off, just leave it.  It will enhance the flavor.  Whenever you have any stock type veggies (carrots, onions, celery, you get the idea), don’t throw away the cut off sections (or disposal or compost them), but save them in a bag in the freezer.  Once you are ready to make the stock, put the chicken bones and veggie scraps, a little garlic, a little salt and pepper, and some herbs (I used an Italian Seasoning blend) in your crockpot.  I can fit two whole carcasses in my 6 qt.  Cover with water, set it on low, and wait about 8 hours.  Ta-da! 🙂  Strain, let cool in the fridge overnight, and scoop of the fat from the top.  If it wiggles like jello, then you have made stock. 🙂
 
Well, that’s my plan for the week.  Maybe I will have photos for you at the end of the week . . . 🙂 
2 thoughts on “Getting ready to fill the freezer . . .”

  1. Hello!

    Found your blog today when I was googling for rice freezer recipes. And for inspiration! My freezer is running low and I wanted some inspiration.

    Have you had the frozen naan yet? Did it freeze well?

  2. I’m so glad you found it! 🙂 You know something, I don’t remember. *blush* I’m pretty sure I have eaten it, because I don’t remember seeing it in my rummages lately, but I don’t remember whether it was good or not. I don’t see why not, though. Most bread products freeze very well, IMO.

Leave a Reply

