Last week and this week

Ummm, yeah. So I DID do a bunch of cooking, but I also got a new roommate (so, now I cook for 4 adults and 2 kids), so my house was kind of a wreck while stuff was getting moved in. What made it into the freezer was:

Crab Rangoons – not that great, too much krab versus cream cheese for me but these will be good to pop out a few of when we’re having Chinese food
Scout’s Salsa Chicken – 1 bag for dinner, 2 in the freezer; I need to remember to add a little bit more liquid to this batch when I cook them up, it was a little dry

And this came out of the freezer:
Sloppy Joes – Yum πŸ™‚
Ham and Beans – wellll, the ham and ham bone came out of the freezer . . .:) The cloves added a nice flavor.

Today was baking day. I made 4 loaves of bread today, and one is happily kneading away in my bread machine. πŸ™‚ So the first bread I made was a yummy oatmeal sandwich bread from the manual of my machine. Very nice, especially since I subbed in 1 c. whole wheat for 1 c. bread flour. Just a plain sandwich loaf. Next I made an onion bread that took, from start to finish 1 hour. Nope, not a quick bread, an actual yeast bread. My bread machine has a 58minute Express cycle, and this is one of the recipes in the manual for that cycle. I had never tried the cycle before, so If igured I’d give it a try. This turned out to be a really yummy soft white bread (a basic white bread recipe using hot water, double the yeast, and onion soup mix for flavoring). Now when I say soft, think processed white bread that comes in a colorful plastic bag soft. Without all the preservatives . . . Nice. πŸ™‚ Then I made a peanut butter bread (quick bread), per request of my new roommate.

And then a Taco Bread. I used this recipe, ran it through the dough cycle, then flattened out into a rectangle, rolled it out thin as I could, and sprinkled it with another tablespoon of taco seasoning, some mozzerella cheese, and some fresh chopped cilantro. I rolled it up, sealed the ends, and put it into a loaf pan. After letting it rise for 30 minutes, I put into a 350F oven for 35 minutes. OMG. OMG. I need to make 30 more of these. SO GOOD.

Now I am finishing up a sweet bread. I don’t think it will be like the sweet Hawaiian bread you can get in the store, but with pineapple juice and an egg, it does satisfy my desire to cook at least one sweet bread today. πŸ™‚

What’s going in the freezer? Most of the onion and taco loaf (minus taste tests!), prolly half the pineapple bread, and prolly half the peanut butter bread. And yes, we are looking at pennies here as far as cost. I have baked 4 loaves with it today, and I still haven’t finished my 5 lb. bag of bread flour. And since I discovered the 2lb bags of yeast at Sam’s Club that cost about $6, yeast now costs essentially nothing. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

