Getting My Curry On

So, I had a bag of Baked Curry Glazed Pork in the freezer, and decided to go ahead and build an Indian style dinner around it, which is what we had for dinner last night.

OMG. And actual report on what we had for dinner last night . . .

So anyway, the pork was good (although one of my roommates asked me how I got it to taste like ). I also had some Indian Style Broccoli, which was apparently the worst part of the meal. It wasn’t bad, but we don’t need to eat it again. I also made some Curried Rice, one of the rice mixes I put together a few weeks ago. This was actually really yummy, but needed a little less water for the jasmine rice I used, and a little bit longer cooking. The recipe is posted below (for regular long grain white rice). I also found some adorable little summer squash at the grocery store for 99 cents a pound, less than the zucchini! 🙂 When I say cute, I mean these weird little ufo looking things were about an inch, maybe an inch and a half across. I just cut them in half along the circumference, so they still looked cute, then steamed them for a few minutes. Dropped a little salt on them, and they turned out to be the best part of the meal. 🙂

Curried Rice Mix
makes 1 and 1/3 cups, serves 6

  • a c. long grain rice
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube, crumbled
  • 2 T. dried minced onion
  • 1/4 c. raisins
  • 1/2 t. curry powder

Layer ingredients in a small (12 oz.) jar. To cook, bring 2.5 cups of water to a boil. Add the rice mix. Cover and reduce heat to low. Simmer for 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

