05.06 – Tea Time Bento


Tea Time Bento

Originally uploaded by craftscout

I’m not sure why, but a Tea Time themed bento sounded really good this week. Maybe it was the yummy looking (and tasting) cucumbers in the fridge. Well, I baked up a loaf of honey oatmeal bread (something sturdy enough to be cut thinly) and made two types of tea sandwiches: cucumber and egg salad. I also used a vegetable peeler and made some carrot noodles which I then soaked in Italian dressing overnight. And finally made some wonderful wonderful Cranberry mini scones. Then I packed it all in my oh-so-cute sandwich bento box. πŸ™‚ Totally yummilicious, especially with blueberry green tea.

Scout’s Egg Salad
20 minutes prep, serves 1

  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 t. dried dill
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 T. mayonaise

Hard boil egg (this should take about 18 minutes), shock with cold water to stop it from cooking, peel, and mash in a small bowl. Mix the rest of the ingredients with egg, and spread thinly on your favorite bread. Or crackers. Or pita. Or a spoon. Did I mention this was yummy stuff? πŸ™‚

Scone recipe can be found at my Bento Menu.

Leave a Reply

