Why Frugality?

For some frugality is a necessity, and that group of people is growing by leaps and bounds in this age of economic uncertainty. Thankfully right now (knock on wood) my family is okay. We can splurge every now and then without feeling it too badly the rest of the week.

So why would I concentrate so much on frugality in my home management? I have several reasons. I’m a stay at home mom, and I would like to keep it that way. As long as it is cheaper for my family for me to stay home, I get to. I love food and I love cooking, but I also like knowing that when we need a the air conditioning looked at (for possibly big bucks), it’s not a problem. And, the economy (IMO) is only going to get worse. By being frugal now, my kids won’t notice it when we HAVE to pinch pennies.

And to be honest, I like the game of it. I like stretching my mind to figure out how I can serve my family food that they rave about at work for less than $2 per person. I like learning to cook from scratch. I like cooking exotic food at home. I like entertaining. And, yes, I LOVE the look on my mom’s face when I told her that I can feed all of us for about $100 per week. At the time, that was 3 adults and 2 kids. Now we are 4 adults and 2 kids, and we’re up to about $125 per week. According to the USDA thrifty plan, I’m saving my family about $68 per week. That’s a tank of gas in these days of $3.50/gallon gasoline. Food for thought, eh?

Leave a Reply

