Convenience Food – Chicken Nuggets

Okay, so I am trying to get back in the swing of things after Ike. My area is slowly coming back to life, and grocery stores were almost completely stocked (yeah, frozen food aisle!). So tonight I am going to start filling the freezer back up. I am making a large batch of Chicken Nuggets. As you can see from the recipe, this is not your ordinary nuggets recipe. There is no buttermilk, no egg, no multi-step process, and no frying. These are recipes I like. I LOVE breaded foods. Tonkatsu, fried chicken, tempura anything, fish and chips type fish, eggplant parmesan. I love it all. And I HATE doing it. Dip in a dry, dip in a wet, dip in a dry . . .YUCK. Takes too long, gets too many dishes dirty, not the healthiest of foods. I hate it. Only when a recipe is truly worth it (Tonkatsu, I’m talking about you, or more specifically your leftovers) do I go through this.

But Scout, you cry, there are alternatives! Right in your frozen food aisle, they have packages full of prebreaded, prebattered, precooked goodies. Gah, half of that stuff isn’t really food, and the other half is unhealthy, expensive, and/or just as time consuming as doing it yourself.

So when I found this recipe, I was really excited to try it. No wet dip, but nice marinade. Check, I can do that. No dry dip, shake and bake. Oh, big check – I can do that! No frying? Ding, ding, ding, we have a winner! And when I make a triple batch, I can flash freeze half for chicken nugget goodness another night. Oh, Scout is a happy momma.

And what can you do with frozen chicken nuggets once you have them? Well, for starters, I think DD will think they are a fantastic lunch with a dipping sauce (ranch, BBQ, or tonkatsu). And you can make Buffalo Chicken bites instead of wings, fried chicken salad, mini-chicken parmesan, mini chicken sandwiches, “Southern Style” chicken breakfast biscuits, apparently fried chicken is really good on waffles (though I wouldn’t know).

And the best things about this recipe? Since chicken breasts were on sale for about $2/pound, it comes out to about 60 cents per serving – using homemade breadcrumbs from homemade bread. See if you can beat that in your frozen food aisle. I’ll let you know how they work out, although the reviews are promising. 🙂

Leave a Reply

