My Vegetarian Scouts’ Favorite Thing

20120325-225742.jpg

In my Girl Scout troop, I have several vegetarians (or semi-veg), which makes meal planning for a camping trip an interesting endeavor. When I saw this can of vegetarian chili at my local HEB, I nearly started dancing in the aisle.

See, we haven’t really been able to do any of the usual camp food, because most of the recipes I can find involve ground beef or bacon. No Brownie Stew. We do a lot of salads and spaghetti (with meatballs on the side). But this can meant we could finally have a true classic (in this part of the country, anyway).

We could now have Frito Pie.

Frito Pie, just the thought of it, immediately takes me back to school carnivals during my childhood. Take a lunch-sized bag of Fritos (not Scoops, Fritos, just Fritos, you know – the only Fritos you could get in 1983). Open the bag. Pour in chili (Yeah, this always came out of a can in those days. At least, for Frito Pie). Top with shredded cheddar, and diced onion if you’re feeling frisky. Which I never did.

And now, I get to introduce this bag full of nostalgia to my girls. They tried it. They loved it. I had parents calling me to find out where I got it, because their daughters demanded it for dinner the same week. One of them had Frito Pie a couple of times that week. 😉

It’s not the healthiest lunch at camp, but since it is mostly beans, it’s also not the worst. I can tell you, it tastes a whole lot like regular Hormel (which is either really good for Hormel, or really bad), so if you need a good meal for groups with mixed dietary restrictions. Our only food allergy is to peanuts, so I can’t speak to that.

One thought on “My Vegetarian Scouts’ Favorite Thing”

Leave a Reply

