It’s time to boil eggs!

If your family is like mine, this is the weekend for hard-boiling and coloring eggs. I love eggs!  They are an excellent source of protein, and very budget friendly.  If your family eats a lot of them, you can often get them for around a dollar a dozen still when you purchase them in bulk.

Now, I have to admit that my beloved copy of the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook (you know, the red plaid one everyone should own) automatically falls open to the page about hard boiling eggs, because I don’t have this basic recipe memorized.  I suppose if I made them every week, or even every month, I would.  If you don’t have this recipe memorized, either, here it is:

Hard Boiled Eggs
30 minutes, as many servings as you need

Ingredients:
eggs
water

1. Place the eggs you wish to boil in a single layer in the bottom of an empty pot.  Cover with COLD water, an inch higher than the eggs.  Start heating over medium high heat, until the water comes to a boil.  Now put a cover on the pot, and drop the heat to a simmer.  I find that my pot always starts to boil over when I do this, so this morning I cracked it until the boiling slowed to a simmer, then put it on fully.  No boil over! Now set your timer for 15 minutes, and let them simmer.

2. Once the eggs are cooked, you have one of two options.  The best option is to have a bowl of ice water ready to dunk the eggs in.  The ice water stops the cooking process, and prevents the dreaded green ring around the yolks.  Now, the other option, which is the one I usually use because I hate the idea of washing extra dishes, is to quickly drain the hot water water and refill with cold water, and drain and refill several times until the heat has been taken out of the pot.  Then pour in a couple of cups of ice and let the eggs sit to cool completely.

Now, if you are planning on coloring these, leave the shells on.  But there are a couple of options if you aren’t planning on coloring these.  You can make tea eggs, or even this neat colorful version.  You could also make adorable shaped eggs for bentos using egg molds.

But what do you do when you are tired of plain hard boiled eggs?  My favorites are Deviled Eggs and Egg Salad. This Egg Salad recipe from Eating Well caught my eye (being featured in a bento, of course it did!) and we are giving it a try. And this is my favorite Deviled Eggs recipe, the one my mother taught me when I was in high school and I have always used.

Deviled Eggs
10 minutes, 4 servings (but doubles and triples well)

Ingredients
4 hard boiled eggs
1 T. mayonnaise
1 t. dijon mustard
1 t. pickle relish (my mom adds this, but I leave it out and add dill)
dash of garlic powder
dash of dill
dash of salt
dash of pepper
paprika

1. Cut eggs in half. Pop out yolks and drop into a small bowl. Arrange the whites on a plate. Mash yolks with the back of a fork. Combine with mayo, mustard, and seasonings (except paprika). Taste and adjust as necessary. The consistency should be about like toothpaste.

2. The fast way of filling the whites is to scoop up small amounts of the yolk mixture with a spoon and put into the whites. The pretty way is to spoon all of the yolk mixture into a ziptop bag and squoosh it down to one corner. Snip off that corner with kitchen scissors, and pipe the yolk mixture into the whites in a pretty swirl.

3. When the whites are all filled, sprinkle eggs with paprika, and serve.

Leave a Reply

