$70 Menu, Day 5

This was a strange day. My wedding anniversary is this weekend, so DH and I decided went to a murder mystery dinner on a yacht while the kids went to Grandma and Grandpa’s house for the night. So, dinner cost nothing on the grocery list, but cost more than the week’s groceries. Since DH and I really only do one or two date nights a year, we tend to splurge a little on them. And we like dinner theater.

I had actually planned a dinner for tonight, which was good because pizza night was cancelled due to lack of dough, and we had the lentil tacos which I had planned for tonight. Yay, overplanning worked! 🙂 But I had planned on making coconut bread for breakfast sometime this week, and kept running out of time, so it never showed up. Maybe it will be breakfast on Sunday.

20120922-114251.jpg
Breakfast: Breakfast Tacos $0
I hadn’t planned this, so I just used leftovers and bits and bobs and extras from the fridge and freezer. Hash browns from the Relish week, eggs, leftover bacon, salsa, extra green and red peppers, onions, and the last of the cheddar cheese. This was a great way to clean out the fridge. And it is super yummy!

Lunch: Tuna Salad Sandwiches, Cinnamon Apples $5.85
My son saw his lunch, came over and gave me a big hug to thank me for the tuna salad, then promptly forgot it on the counter. *eyeroll* My tuna salad is not the standard deli tuna salad. Although, I consider that to be quite a misnomer, since there is no real “salad” in it. I learned to make tuna salad from my mother (it’s one of those recipes, like french toast).First you start with lettuce, crunchy crunchy lettuce (iceberg and romaine are excellent, never use butter).About 2 cups of chopped lettuce for 4 people. Then add 1-2 chopped fresh tomatoes, 1-2 chopped green onions, 1-2 ribs of diced celery, 1/4-1/2 cup of raisins, 12 oz. of tuna (drained, even if you get it from a packet, and you NEVER get oil packed), and just enough mayo to hold it all together. Add salt, pepper, dill, and garlic powder to taste.

Delicious.

Dinner: See above 😉

Leave a Reply

