$45 Menu, Day 2

20120926-065007.jpg
Breakfast: Pina Colada Parfait $4.15
This is one of my favorites. It’s a really easy, fast breakfast, and modifiable based on what you have on hand. I didn’t have much on hand, so I had to get the yogurt and the pineapple. But, thanks to the (not made) coconut bread from last week, I have coconut extract – which I would happily pour on everything. Save some of the juice from the pineapple can, mix with coconut extract, then mix with the plain greek yogurt to sweeten it up.

20120925-061151.jpg
Lunch: Chicken Salad on Pretzel Rolls, Salad $0.45
My HEB had these cool pretzel rolls in the bakery a while back. I had no use for them that month, but I remembered fondly the ones I made for myself and grabbed a pack, then stashed it in the freezer. I really like this recipe for chicken salad. but then, I really like rosemary and garlic. The kids liked it, too.

20120926-065019.jpg
Dinner: Slow Cooker Vegetable Tagine, Falafel from the freezer, and Tzatziki $13.83
Yep, here’s the splurge for the week. It’s starting to feel a little like fall here; the temperatures are dropping out of the high nineties and the humidity has dropped, too. I knew I had a batch of falafel stashed in the freezer, and that I would be getting yogurt, so I decided that I would try a new recipe filled with fall veggies and toss them all in the crockpot. Parsnips are our favorite fall/winter vegetable, with carrots a close second. This also has butternut in it, which really up the fall feel. And reminded me why I don’t cook more butternut squash – Oy, the peeling!

The original recipe called for a pleasant combination of spices, but I decided to try something my mom brought me back from England:
20120926-065029.jpg
It smelled lovely when I put together dinner in the morning. But I think the cold I had been fighting all day finally won around dinnertime, so I don’t know if it really tasted “meh”, or if I was just too stopped up to taste it. Well, I have some leftovers that I can test that question on after I get better.

Leave a Reply

