$45 Menu, Day 4

Breakfast: Huevos Rancheros Tacos $3.47
Originally, I had planned on huevos rancheros this morning, but I’m still sick. Standing there warming up the tortillas in the skillet made me realize I didn’t want to stand there managing 8 over easy eggs, so I scrambled them, added salsa and turned them into tacos. One child ended by licking her plate and the other started skipping and clapping when he saw his plate, so I would give this at least 2 thumbs up. 🙂

Lunch: Bacon, Oatmeal, and Cheddar Scones with Salad $0
It was supposed to be broccoli mac and cheese today, but I couldn’t find it in the freezer, so I grabbed the last two bacon scones and added a salad. Yay for freezer goodies which make lunch packing fast and easy.

20120928-064033.jpg
Dinner: Creamed Tuna and Peas $0
A Maggie classic from her $45 Menu. The kids loved this a lot. This recipe is definitely a budget friendly one, in fact I had everything on hand – although I need to restock on rice now. If I was not still under the weather, I would probably have made a big garden salad to amp up the veggie content. I started the rice in the rice cooker about an hour before I wanted dinner done. The Creamed Tuna and Peas only took about 10 minutes all told. If you want to try this on a hectic night, try serving it over pasta (linguine would be nice, semi-carbonara style) and it will be very quick.

Leave a Reply

