The Scramble, Day 3

Breakfast: Sausage Veggie Scramble $0.80
This was basically sausage and potatoes from the freezer, and peppers and onions that I knew I didn’t need for other meals. So, this is cleaning out the fridge before the end of the week, I guess. 🙂 So, really, all I am counting as far as cost of the meal is the eggs (although, actually, they would have been leftover, too).

20121003-075804.jpg
Lunch: Garlic Herb Farfalle $5.38
I have a confession. My kids don’t like some vegetables. I mean really don’t like them. Both of them are pretty against spinach, and the boy is firmly convinced that any leaves in a cooked dish must be spinach. He looks at me very suspiciously when I tell him it’s basil, or whatever. And if you have never been given that look by a 6 year old, you don’t want to be. Because of this, I tend to stay away from fresh herbs in meals.

If you notice what I am trying to pull on them for dinner tonight, you may understand why I chose to use dried herbs for this pasta dish! 🙂

I snagged a bite of the pears with pecans and balsamic vinegar, and it was really yummy – a flavor combination I need to remember! Especially since I used a few drops of some lovely rich pecan infused balsamic vinegar instead of the balsamic vinaigrette the recipe called for. Hmmmm . . . pecans, pears, and balsamic vinegar . . . and pie. 😀

20121004-064142.jpg
Dinner: Spinach and Feta Frittata $7.83
Okay, so this was a winner for three of us. Boogie Boy, who doesn’t like spinach OR sundried tomatoes OR feta, tried one bite and gagged. But he finished that bite and then I made him a sandwich with leftover roast beef. DD loved this (I think it tasted a lot like Saag Paneer, one of her favorite dishes, to her). I thought it was tasty, but I added too much salt (totally my fault) which probably had my husband in heaven. 🙂

So now, I just have to get the boy to understand that “frittata” is the method, not the recipe.

Leave a Reply

