The Scramble, Day 4

Breakfast: Slow Cooker Oatmeal $0
Still playing around, looking for variations that work, and a base recipe that works for us. Today I tried 1 cup oats, 4 cups liquid (mixed milk and water), pinch of salt, 3 tablespoons brown sugar as a base and it worked lovely well. I might sneak it up to 4 1/2 cups of liquid.

Last night, I also added a hefty amount of cinnamon (maybe 2 tablespoons) and finished it with 1 1/2 cups of raisins this morning. I am worried that adding dried fruit at night will make the fruit dissolve into the oatmeal, so I just turn off the crockpot first thing, mix in the raisins, and then put the lid back on while I cook lunch so the raisins warm up and the oatmeal cools to eating temperature.

I think next week I am going to try pineapple oatmeal using the extra can of pineapple slices I got this week, and the juice from the can replacing the water.

20121004-064212.jpg
Lunch: Crispy Bean Quesadillas $1.97
I had plenty of cooked beans in the freezer, so I didn’t bother buying a can of black beans AND a can of refried. I just refried my black beans. 🙂 Then I added some corn, and chopped tomato, and baked according to the recipe. I have to admit, baking quesadillas make it so much faster to make more than one, and no babysitting on the stove.
Dinner: Pizza Night! $8.75
From The Scramble, I got a recipe for Caramelized Onion, Mushroom, and Goat Cheese Pizza. This was good, but I think if we did it again, I would use a white sauce, not a red sauce. It was too tangy for me. DH says he would have added some mozzarella instead to cover up the red sauce more.

I picked up a jar of pesto when I went to the store earlier for cornmeal. It added $2.29 to the price of dinner, but now I know what I am doing with that leftover provolone next week. And it made the tastier pizza last night: pesto base, sauteed zucchini (leftover from the week), and Italian sausage (from the freezer). DH has dubbed this the “Eye-talian”. I’m not sure why. And the Italian part of me is vaguely offended. *grins*

Leave a Reply

