The Scramble, Day 7

Breakfast: Breakfast Cookies $0
I happened to have everything on hand for these cookies this morning, and even was awake enough to make up an extra bag for next week or the week after. I really like the mornings where all I have to do is turn on the oven, add a cup of applesauce, make four plops on a pan, and bake. This morning was a little more complicated. 😉

20121009-063240.jpg
Lunch: Crunchy Veggie Wraps $6.25
I used prepacked matchstick carrots for this, because I intentionally picked several recipes that use them. I knew that my husband would snack on them, too, so I knew none of it would go to waste. But I think it was not the best choice for this dish. I think wraps work best when they are mostly soft fillers with a few hard elements inside. If I made this recipe again, I would probably just use a full carrot, and cut it into long strips to match the cucumber. And add shredded lettuce as a filler. And some green onion.

Mind you, the original recipe called for shredded carrot, which would have worked better, too.

20121010-064033.jpg
Dinner: Baked Ziti with Caesar Salad $13.04
Thank goodness for my crockpot. I had an awful day dealing with plumbing issues and crashing software and finally a Girl Scout meeting that I wasn’t prepared for. And I almost forgot to put dinner in the crockpot. I started fixing my lunch, and then facepalmed because that was when I realized I hadn’t started dinner yet.

Anyway, once I was back safe at home, meeting accomplished, my husband tried to give me a nice relaxing evening, bringing home beer and making the salad. The top noodles that didn’t get covered in sauce didn’t get cooked, but other than that, this was delicious! Instead of the peas the recipe called for, I used shredded zucchini, and the kids ate without complaint (except about the crunchy noodles). Next time I make this, and there will be a next time, I will probably put a half cup of sauce in the bottom of the pot, layer the noodles, veggies, and cheeses, and then pour the rest of the sauce down over everything to try and make sure everything gets coated. If that doesn’t work, I’ll just stir everything together instead of trying to make pretty layers.

Leave a Reply

