Freezer Cleanout, Day 1

Monday started sloooooow. I didn’t have time to go grocery shopping over the weekend, so breakfast and lunch was literally cleaning out the fridge and freezer. I managed to go to the store during the day, so was able to pick up a jar of green sauce for dinner.

Breakfast: Macadamia Nut Muffins $0
I had a few left over from my Relish! weeks.

Lunch: Clean out the Fridge Fried Rice $0
I noticed that I had some leftover rice in the fridge, which is perfect for fried rice, and fried rice is perfect for cleaning out the fridge. I added some onion, a little leftover chicken, garlic, red pepper, and a bit of frozen pea and carrot mix that made my son come over and hug me.

20121016-070622.jpg
Dinner: Enchiladas Verdes $4
I like this recipe, because it is a healthier cheese enchilada than the recipe I came up with, but considering that my son said he doesn’t like my enchiladas “because they are always so spicy”, I might need to come up with a new recipe. I have a good handle on a mild red sauce, but I am not familiar enough with green sauces to know which so called “mild” sauces are actually quite spicy. But I like the idea of using low fat cottage cheese to bulk up the cheesiness of cheese enchiladas.

And, to cut all that cheese, is a low fat bean and corn salad. I love this salad, and it is actually really freezer friendly. Just thaw a 1 or 2 cup portion of beans, thaw about 2 cups of corn, and a little olive oil, cumin, garlic powder, chili powder, and salt. Mix, and done. 5 minutes, not counting thawing time.

Leave a Reply

