Wildly Affordable Organic, Week 1 Menu and Shopping

The next two weeks, I am going to be using menus based on a website and a book.  As in the menu is on the website, the recipes are from the book.  I already owned the book, and really like it; but if I didn’t, I wouldn’t have felt like it was a splurge at less than $15 for the physical book and less than $10 for the ebook.

I am going to be cooking the Winter Challenge Menus, classic version, and I will feel free to modify it to fit my family.  For instance, my family always eats homemade pizza once a week.  It is becoming a bonding thing for my husband and son.  I am inserting it into the weekly menu, but I am using a WAO recipe for it (but the Jamie Oliver dough recipe my husband always uses).  We also are not vegetarian, although we don’t eat a lot of meat.  But I plan on adding some chuck roast to the chili this week, half a pound will be plenty for 8 servings to give us the flavor of meat while still trying to keep the spirit of WAO.

This week, grocery shopping was pretty normal actually, for us:  $92.

Breakfasts
Eggwiches
Biscuits (to use up leftover biscuit mix)
Sweet Raisin Flatbread (WAO)
AM Cobbler
Baked Sweet Potatoes with Cinnamon Yoghurt Sauce (WAO)

Lunches
Applesauce Sandwiches, Ant-less Logs
Pita Pizzas, Broccoli Salad
Moroccan Chicken, Glazed carrots
Dippers Lunch
PB&J, celery sticks

Dinners
Pasta with Red Sauce, Green Beans, Pudding
Black Bean Chili, Rice, Glazed Carrots
Winter Kale Pizza
Leftover Pasta and Green Beans, Baked Pears
Sesame Noodles with Kale

Leave a Reply

