WAO, Day 8

20121105-064404.jpg
Breakfast: Breakfast Burritos $0
This was supposed to be our breakfast over the weekend. Except we left all of the groceries I bought for the trip in the fridge in our haste to get out of town. le sigh. But now, we have noms in the freezer in addition to in our bellies. I cooked up a pound of sausage, a pound of diced potatoes, and a half dozen eggs. Then I added 1/4 cup of salsa (maybe more, maybe less. It should kind of soak in, not add a bunch of liquid) and 1 1/2 c. cheese. Then put about 1/2 c. on each tortilla and roll up. I got 8 fully stuffed burritos, plus extra portion for my son who likes to open his burritos and eat the filling out of them. Five into the freezer!

20121105-064413.jpg
Lunch: Clean out the Fridge $0
Yep, just what it sounds like, I peeked in the fridge, grabbed leftover linguine and red sauce, leftover peas, and leftover baked pears. I also added the last Granny Smith to my daughter’s lunch.

Dinner: Chili with Cornbread $6.58
So I made a full 8 serving pan of cornbread, using my mom’s special method (not really a recipe, but a way to make any recipe taste like home to me. I used Maggie’s recipe), and then used another 8 serving’s worth to top some chili from last week. Which made the cornbread take so long to cook, it was almost burnt. Almost. But not quite. Instead it was delicious. Which is good, cuz the kids are having it for lunch.

One thought on “WAO, Day 8”

Leave a Reply

