WAO, Day 9

Breakfast: Banana Nut Muffins $0
Mmmm, I love muffins. Especially when I have bananas so ripe they are practically black. And now, I also have enough dry mix for 48 more muffins in the pantry – which means I will be more likely to make muffins. Except, I need to make up some streusel topping, too. Then the muffins will be awesome.

Lunch: Chili and Cornbread, Corn $0
Yeah, leftovers. With a freshly cooked side dish of Mexican corn (corn sauteed with onions and peppers and garlic powder).

20121107-065213.jpg
Dinner: Split Pea Soup, Cornbread $3.58
So, here is one of the first places I modified the WAO menu for the week to include some meat. The original recipe for split pea soup includes tahini and chipotle to give the smokiness of the bacon it does not have. I put the bacon in. Mmmmmm, bacon.

And yes, apparently one of my favorite pillows is split pea soup green.

Bonus Crazy Baking Day!!! $4.81
On top of making a big batch of muffin mix, and a dozen muffins this morning, I spent the entire morning baking. Serious baking. Honey oatmeal bread. 4 pounds of it. 2 pounds became a regular bread machine loaf, 1 pound became cinnamon raisin swirl bread for one of the “Toast and Peanut Butter” breakfasts this week, and the last pound became CINNAMON ROLLS with SUGARFREE GLAZE! Mmmmmm, cinnamon rolls . . . . Breakfast. Tomorrow. You will see.

AND – I cooked chickpeas and made hummus. Yum. But I forgot to save the cooking liquid, so I had to use way too much olive oil.

Leave a Reply

