WAO Day 10

20121107-065323.jpg
Breakfast: Cinnamon Rolls $0
It was so nice to be able to sleep in this morning. I mean, I have my alarm set so I get to hit the snooze button a couple of times most mornings, but this morning I got to sleep in good. All I had to do this morning was chop some veggies and pita for the kids’ lunches.

But, back to the Cinnamon rolls.

So. Good. The boy told me these were a smidgeon better than the ones from the grocery store, which is a high compliment from him, and the girl yelled at him that they were 100% better!

To make them, I took the slightly sweet honey oatmeal bread dough that I was making and spread it out into a thin rectangle, maybe 12″x8″. Then I covered it in cinnamon and brown sugar, and rolled it into a 12″ long tube. I used my long serrated bread knife to cut it into 12 pieces and put in a 8″x8″ pan that I sprayed with cooking spray, covered with a napkin, and let rise for about an hour. Then I baked them at 375 for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, I mixed up a simple glaze of 2 cups powdered sugar substitute, 1 t. vanilla, and enough milk to make a paste. Once the rolls were out, I spread the glaze all over and put in the fridge when they were cool.

Lunch: Dippers Lunch $2.34
Mmmmm, homemade hummus. Fresh pita. Veggie sticks. Basic, easy, delicious.

Dinner: Roasted Fall Veggie Pizza $14.09
It’s a lot of money for pizza. I know it’s a lot of money for pizza. But I can’t buy one parsnip and one carrot and part of a head of cauliflower, etc. It’s especially a lot of money when I find out that my pizza chef is out of pizza dough! So I bought a pound of parsnips, a pound of carrots, a head of cauliflower, a crown of broccoli, and an onion to roast tonight and planned to use them for a couple of other meals; and then we went out for dinner. Le sigh.

Leave a Reply

