Sunday: Orange waffles, pickle making, and Buddha Bowls

Today is “get it processed” day! Anything that needs to be chopped for the freezer (bell peppers, I’m looking at you) or for quick pickling happens today. 

But first, always start with a hearty breakfast. This morning, while cooking with my 13 year, I got to explain how baking powder works and why you keep wet and dry ingredients separate until the last possible moment. I’m thinking her waffles and muffins will come out even better in the future. 

She started with our regular waffle mix (which she prepped a while ago for just such an occasion), but I managed to stop her from using oil this time (as the recipe calls for) and substitute applesauce. I explained that that substitution, along with our family’s move to almond milk, made each waffle 100 calories lighter, which meant we could each have two. πŸ™‚

Then to use up some stuff from the box, and add to the nutritional content, I made a quick orange sauce (juice of 2 oranges, powdered sugar until it’s sweet enough and syrupy enough – 1/2 cup in this case). I also chopped up a satsuma. My son loved the sauce, and would like me to make more. Like, right now. πŸ˜‰ 
Waffles (each) – 146 calories, 27.2g carbs, 1.6g fat, 5.1g protein

Sauce – 104 calories, 26g carbs, 0g fat, 1g protein

Total

  • 408 calories
  • 83g carbs
  • 3g fat
  • 11g protein

  
That’s a lot of produce. 

And it’s some of the produce that got me most excited. MORE RADISHES??? Woohoo! Seems strange, especially since there wasn’t a single radish slice on yesterday’s salad. 

Yeah, that’s because I hate radishes. 

But, I wasn’t being sarcastic when I cheered to get them in my box. I have recently discovered quick pickled radishes. So delicious, with none of the funkiness. They’re quick pickled, so no waiting for weeks before you can crack them open or time consuming water bath canning procedure. But also, no storing for months in the pantry. These are strictly refrigerator pickles, good only for a week or two, but they don’t tend to last that long! πŸ™‚  

I made two different batches today. The bowl full of orange and white sticks is for Do Chua, Vietnamese pickled daikon and carrot – the required pickle for making banh mi sandwiches. And these rest of the produce (radishes, carrots, garlic, jalapeΓ±o, baby banana peppers, and lime) is for Taco Pickles. I also have some cauliflower that boiled in the vinegar pickling liquid, that goes in, too. All that good gets nice and pickled together, gets a little sweet and a little spicy, and tastes amazing with any Latin dish you throw at it. πŸ™‚ 
Don’t they look purty? πŸ™‚ 

  
Speaking of purty.  πŸ˜‰

This is a Spicy Buddha Bowl. A super yummy Spicy Buddha Bowl. Which incidentally used up the end of the spinach, a quarter head of red cabbage, and a couple of sweet potatoes from the box. We are currently working our way through a bottle of what must be the spiciest siracha I’ve ever tasted.  Which is why the kids thought this was too spicy. My daughter mentioned something about breathing fire, but I paid her no mind.  I was too busy enjoying my Buddha Bowl. 

Total: 509 calories, 80g. carbs, 17g. fat (hello, tahini!), 14g. protein

Used from the box today:

  • Satsuma
  • 2 oranges
  • Half bunch cilantro
  • Quarter head cauliflower
  • 9 radishes (all of them!)
  • 5 baby banana peppers
  • 1 daikon (left a little for beer drinking)
  • Red cabbage (froze the other 3/4 of the head. Why??? You’ll see!)
  • 2 sweet potatoes

Pretty good for one day! Tomorrow, goodbye greens! In a tasty way. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

