Monday: In and out of the freezer

  
Mmmmmm, zucchini bread. My daughter pulled this out of the freezer this morning for breakfast. I like this recipe. I started liking it even more once I stopped cutting it into 8 slices and started cutting it into 12. Don’t get me wrong, I love a thick slice of sweet quick bread, but nearly 350 calories is a bit much for one slice. 

These were made from the last of the zucchini we got in the box, oh, about a month ago. I make up 2 loaves at a time, then pre slice them and flash freeze them on cookie sheets. Now that they are 213 calories a slice, sometimes I’ll have 2 slices (no cream cheese), sometimes just one. 

Total (including cream cheese schematic): 248 calories, 30g. carbs, 12g. fat, 4g. protein

I’m gonna need a high protein snack today before lunch. I think this would be great as French toast for a weekend brunch, and the eggs would add a good bit of protein. 

This is the kids’ lunch today. Veggie lo mein, Trader Joe’s meatballs, do chua, and a couple of garden fresh mini muffins (made with zucchini, carrot, and summer squash). Lo mein was made fresh this morning, using up some Napa from the box, edamame from the freezer, and a red pepper I picked up from the store.   

Mmmmm, peanut butter fluffiness. Super easy, delicious high protein snack. Even better if you have apple slices to dip it out with. 

  • 1 c. Nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 2 T. Peanut butter powder
  • 2 t. Honey
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • Salt to taste

Total: 215 calories, 25g. carbs, 2g. fat, 28g. protein 
  
Another light lunch. Half a head of lettuce with Trader Joe’s Siracha Ranch Dressing (current TJs addiction), taco pickles from last week, pasta with red sauce (with collard greens!). I wasn’t so sure about this collard greens recipe from Wildly Affordable Organic, but it tastes just fine. The kids thought so, too, which is always a win. So, yeah, mostly cleaning out the fridge for lunch because I didn’t have time to cook anything.  

I don’t know why this looks so orange. Sorry bout that. Dinner was yummy. I cooked up a big freezer batch of buffalo chicken in the crockpot most of the day, served some fresh on toasted whole wheat buns with taco pickles (because I love taco pickles), mustard and collard greens braised with bacon and onions, and fresh boiled corn on the cob. I wish we had gotten twelve more ears of corn. I LOVE corn. Of course, the twenty million pounds of greens are healthier. . .

Speaking of which. Yup, bacon. Pork bacon. I figure if I am going to be rendering the fat to sautĂ© the greens and then flavor them, then I’m going to use the hard stuff. Especially after I noticed that my favorite brand of bacon (Applegate Farms) is only 30 calories per slice! Sold. So, yeah, that side dish was only about 60 calories. Less than the corn. 

Totals: 496 calories, 47g. carbs, 16g. fat, 38g. protein

Into the freezer went 5 bags of buffalo chicken for topping pizzas and mixing into pastas, as well as 6 quesadillas ready for the skillet. 

Out of the box:

  • Napa cabbage
  • Daikon
  • Lettuce
  • Corn (all gone!)
  • Mustard greens (all gone!)
  • Collard greens (all gone!)
Leave a Reply

