Wednesday: the day without pictures 

Sorry, long busy day and my meals are not inspiring today. Started with the purple smoothie. Then pesto hummus (made by making hummus after making pesto without cleaning the blender, subtle but good) with celery, red pepper, banana pepper, cauliflower, pita, and turkey. Mostly celery. And ended the day with a pizza experiment. 

Beet pesto and kale pizza

Yeah. Looks great doesn’t it? When I made my beer pesto, it didn’t look like that. I had chiogga beets, the candy striped ones. Which I didn’t know until I cut into one. Which means my pesto didn’t come out hot pink so much as. . . Well, it reminds me a lot of that pink slime that cheap fast food restaurants put in their meat. And of course, being made out of beets, it tastes nothing like that; but now that I have that image in my mind, I can’t get it out. This recipe has already been deleted from my files. 

Out of the box:

  • Red cabbage (all gone!)
  • Beets (all gone!)
  • Banana peppers
  • Cauliflower

All I’ve got left in my fridge, produce-wise, is a few more banana peppers, a teeny bell pepper, some indeterminate citrus (could be orange, could be Meyer lemon), 2 grapefruit which won’t get eaten, bok choy, the last of the Napa cabbage, some cauliflower, onions, and a couple of sweet potatoes. I seriously need to get some more produce, with some color! 

Leave a Reply

