01/09/15 Box

  
The weather actually got cold this past week down here, with some really wild storms, so my farmer was apologetic about the lack of variety and gave me two extra bunches of carrots to make up for it – and didn’t give us one of those ginormous heads of Napa! Both wins for me. 🙂

In the box:

  • Red cabbage
  • Pak choy
  • Bok choy
  • Arugula
  • Collard greens
  • Mustard greens
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • 3 bunches of carrots
  • Beets
  • Turnips
  • Watermelon radish
  • Cucumbers (English and regular)
  • Cilantro
  • Baby leeks
  • Oranges
  • Handful of snap peas

 Ooooooooooooh, panorama pic. 😉

Wasted food:

  • Beets
  • Oranges

I did pretty good with my last box, but I hate wasting beets, so I am roasting this week’s beets right now to purée. Then I might make beet bread or I might just freeze as cubes of purée for future use. My plan is to start using as much of my frozen goodies as I can, because I have a very full freezer. And it means I have a tiny grocery bill. Since I know I need to make a Trader Joe run next week (we’ll be out of pizza dough) and it is soooooooooo hard not to go overboard in that store, I want my grocery bill to be low this week. 😉

So ideas that are floating around in my head for lunches or dinners:

  • Buddha bowls (will use the red cabbage, spinach, frozen brown rice, and I can use carrots instead of sweet potatoes)
  • Stir fry (pak choy, snap peas, carrots, leeks)
  • Beef stew (turnips!! carrots, parsnips)
  • Pickled cucumbers (what a weird concept! *grins*)
  • Braised mixed greens with bacon
  • Something Mediterranean so I can make tzatziki
  • My daughter already requested butternut squash Mac and cheese with broccoli (squash purée is already in the freezer)

We’ll see how the week goes!

Leave a Reply

