Thursday, still running

Argh!! Is somebody ADDING things to my To Do list?!?  
Breakfast was banana bread baked oatmeal pulled from the freezer. Tasty little brown pucks. Not photogenic. 

The kids got a requested lunch today: broccoli and cheese quesadillas. I added some grilled chicken, some sweet potato, and a lovely mango that had been ripening on the counter. Looks good, huh?

I had Sweet Tomatoes with my mom. I think my lunch was prolly tastier. 

I had big plans for dinner. I knew that my daughter and I had to rush off after eating to go to her high school course selection night, a half hour drive away. So I thought, hey, I’ll make something in the crockpot! That way I don’t have to start cooking at 4, we can eat when she gets home around 5, and we can leave in a leisurely manner at 5:45. 

Mmmmm, I got black eyed peas in the box. And collards. And I have a ham bone in the freezer. Win!! I added some celery, onion, and green pepper and a can of diced tomatoes that had been in the pantry for a while, and I bought a package of andouille sausage. Doesn’t that sound delicious?!?

Yeah, cooked it on low all day long. Checked it at 4:45, and the peas were still hard. Moved it to a pot on the stove and start boiling to try to get the peas to cook. 30 minutes later, I was giving instructions on finishing the soup to my husband and my daughter and I were heading for drive thru. 😦 it smelled soooooooo good. 

Out of the box:

  • Broccoli
  • Sweet potato
  • Black eyed peas (all gone!)
  • Collards (all gone!)
  • Arugula (all gone!)
Leave a Reply

